Mass Ballet here I come!

Mass Ballet here I come!

I’m back! I’m really sorry for my prolonged absence. Summer is a hard time for dance other than summer intensives of course! After coming back from CPYB, I was on the search for a more serious curriculum. I just don’t feel like I’m improving from open class. I want goals, I want regular pointe classes. I think there could be a way to do this in open class (the goals part not so much the pointe part). Devise your own syllabus and talk to the teacher about it…but this is not what I want. I called Jose Mateo Ballet Theater and asked the admin if I could join. Here’s how the conversation went:

Me: Hi there, I’d like to find out more about registering for your Young Dancer’s Program.

Her: Oh, of course. Is it for your daughter?

Me: No, it’s for me.

Her: You don’t have to register, we have an open class adult program where you can attend any class you’d like.

Me: Yes, I know I’ve attended those classes but I want a more structured curriculum. I’d like to join the Young Dancer’s Program.

Her: I’m sorry, it’s reserved for students 18 and under.

Me: Are there any exceptions?

Her: I believe not.

Me: Is there anyone else I can talk to about making an exception?

Her: No, there isn’t.

Me: Ok then….

Not as encouraging as I would have liked. I spoke to one of my teacher’s there and she said I should probably try to reach out directly to Jose Mateo. I haven’t. (I also don’t know how. Stalk his office? Call the admin back and ask for his email address…?)

I called Boston Ballet and was much happier with that phone conversation. The woman said my two options were The Trainee Program (HAHAHAHAHAHAH – ok I wish) or the Open Adult Program because of my age. She gave me an email to ask about any other possible options. That’s what you’re supposed to do! Thank you! I never emailed.

I called Mass Ballet and spent about a good 30 minutes on the phone talking about what RAD is, why they became an RAD studio, how I wanted to get proficient in Pointe, what levels she recommended. Not once did she ask me my age. YESSSSSSS!!!!

So, I have my first trial class today at 4pm. I should skiddadle so I don’t get late. It’s about a 30 to 45 min drive away. Not ideal but I want to try RAD out and I want to go somewhere that I feel at least mostly welcome despite my age. I’m a little nervous. I got the video for the Intermediate Foundations class and I was supposed to take some notes…. I didn’t so not sure at all how things are going to go down today. And I won’t be wearing the uniform since I didn’t want to buy it before committing to the studio. It’s going to be fine though. 🙂 Tell you about it soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One thought on “Mass Ballet here I come!

Leave a Reply

